The Corinthian Correspondence – An Appreciation of Gerald Borchert

by hamiltonmj1983

As I write this lecture on the Corinthian Correspondence, I realize how thankful I am for my undergraduate education. I spent every graduate hour on Hebrew Bible studies, but in undergrad I mainly focused on the NT. I had a very one-sided mindset that I only wanted to teach OT and Hebrew, but now that my first teaching opportunity has been teaching the NT, I am very grateful for my professors at Carson-Newman College.

I especially want to thank Dr. Gerald Borchert for teaching a class on the Corinthian correspondence, from which I am drawing a great deal of material for this lecture. His teaching method, wherein he stimulated discussion through short lectures, was extremely helpful in comprehending the material.

