Making Time

by hamiltonmj1983

How does one make time to do the things that he or she wants to do?

Right now, I work a job with lousy 10 hour rotating shifts, so I never have the same day off two weeks in a row. On top of that, I am teaching my first class ever, so I am writing lectures and assignments as I go (I found out about this job two weeks before classes started, but for the fall I should be able to plan the course out over the summer). I would guess that planning and writing the class is taking 10-15 hours per week now.

On top of these, my wife is pregnant, so I am doing a majority of the household chores. I’m not complaining about that, but it is just a fact of life. I also help her out with the youth at church (she’s an associate pastor in the UM church, and one of her jobs is to run the youth program).

With all of this, I am having trouble finding time to write, or even just to sit down and read! I’m trying to read through the Hebrew Bible (see my previous post), but I am having trouble just sitting down each day to look at it. I want to make time to sit down and just read through the bible, for academic growth as well as personal growth.

I know this probably just sounds like a rant, but I’m really trying to learn how to fit everything into my schedule. I am hoping that a new job will help, and am just waiting for a phone call (job interview was over two weeks ago).

How do you manage your time? I know that people are out there, busier than me, who are ALSO in the middle of PhD programs. How is it done?

