Update: Separation of Church and State post

by hamiltonmj1983

Update: Sadly, even after contacting multiple other state funded schools in the state, my hopes to require my students to purchase a particular translation of a bible were shot down. I was told the following:

We will not be requiring another text for the class. You can let them know the version that you use and explain to them there may be some discrepancies between the versions, then if they wish to purchase that version they may do so, but it will not be a requirement.

I’m very disappointed, because it is very, very difficult to teach NT or OT Survey courses without requiring the students to have bibles! What happens if a student doesn’t own a bible? Will the next rule that comes down the pipeline be that I cannot require readings in the biblical text, in a class about the biblical texts?!?

