Old Testament Survey

by hamiltonmj1983

First off, I apologize for not posting recently! It has been almost two weeks since my last post, which I really regret. The response to the Adam and Eve posts were amazing, and I hope discussion like that can continue on this blog. It has just been busy getting ready for the new family member, who has an expected due date of July 24th, as well as taking a week off of writing just to read fiction!

Secondly, I am now writing my lectures for OT Survey this fall. I enjoyed NT Survey, but I am absolutely having a BLAST writing OT Lectures.

I am structuring the class around Coogan’s A Brief Introduction to the Old Testament, and I think it is going to work out pretty well. I am basically setting up four units, although units 3 and 4 are fairly short (only one week each). I will be giving three exams during the semester, one each over unit 1 and 2, and a combined exam for units 3 and 4. I will also be giving a comprehensive final. The units are as follows: (1) Origins (covering Creation up to Monarchy), (2) Monarchy to 586 BCE, (3) The Exile, and (4) The Persian Period.

Does anyone have any advice as to how I have set this up? I am trying to keep it at a level where community college students will understand it (some of these students lack the reading comprehension and writing skills needed for college [not trying to bash my students, but just being honest – school is not always a priority in the coal fields of Virginia]), but I still want to challenge them.

What do you think, oh wise readers? Any advice?

