Why is Kirk Cameron Sad?

by hamiltonmj1983

Apparently the “Interwebs” blew up today with a photograph of Kirk Cameron blowing out his birthday candles. It must have been a slow news day here, and here, and even here.

My question is this: Why is blowing out the candles on a cheap cake in front of a few subway sandwiches a sad thing? What’s the big deal? If I was at work, and a few people brought me a cake and subway, I’d be excited!

The real question is this: Why does everyone hate Kirk Cameron? I understand that his movies are extremely cheesy and his televangelism-type television show is rather silly. But is that any reason to hate Kirk Cameron?

Kirk Cameron may be silly. He may do or say foolish things on his television show. He may make “christian” movies that are completely theologically bankrupt. But the one thing that I can say for certain about Mr. Cameron is this: he is PASSIONATE.

I think his passion is why most people don’t like him. I don’t agree with much of what he says, but I can really get behind WHY he says it. He is passionate for his faith and for people. I just think he is going about it in all the wrong ways.

I completely understand why the secular world laughs at Kirk Cameron. But why do we, as Christians, do it too? I am guilty of this, and I am sure that others are too. Let us learn from his passion, and his mistakes, instead of simply making fun of him.

Happy birthday, Kirk!

