More Thoughts on “Why I Hate Religion but Love Jesus”

by hamiltonmj1983

I recently posted a blog about the viral video, “Why I Hate Religion, but Love Jesus.”

The author of a blog that I linked to, Kevin DeYoung, had written a good response to the video. He and the creator of the video have since been in conversation, and DeYoung has posted and incredible response here.

The humility between the two parties is astounding and eye-opening. I am grateful to have read these blog entries because it makes me realize my own lack of humility in dealing with people who I disagree with!

I want to mention here that while I disagreed with some of what was said in the video, I also have disagreed with much of what DeYoung has said in the past, particularly about Rob Bell’s “Love Wins.” In addition, I disagree sharply with his “predestinarian,” Calvinist theology. That does not mean, however, that I do not respect him. He is a great example of Christian humility, and really does a good job to listen to the other side before jumping in with his point of view. As a matter of fact, he wrote a very respectful piece about John Wesley recently.

Thank you, Kevin DeYoung and Jefferson Bethke, for being such a great example!

