The Gospel of John

by hamiltonmj1983

Tonight’s lecture for my REL-210 (NT Survey) course is my favorite of the entire course – The Gospel of John.

I am an OT guy, so my time studying the NT is limited. I may or may not have been quoted as saying that all we need is the entire OT, the Sermon on the Mount, and the Gospel of John, to have the complete Gospel message. I was joking, of course, but the Gospel of John and the Sermon on the Mount are my absolute favorite portions of the New Testament.

I have been thinking a little bit about doing some reading about the Gospel of John, particularly into the use of feasts and festivals in the book as a rhetorical device instead of a temporal marker. I had a great prof during my time at Carson-Newman who argued that Jesus’ ministry was only 1 year long, because the festivals in John were not to be taken as literal time stamps, and the other gospels did not contain 3 passovers.

I, sadly, do not have time to do a lot of reading in John this month (and probably not next month either), but I do hope to get to it. In the meantime, enjoy this quiz that my students will surely enjoy (ha) tonight!

note: you probably won’t score more than a 3/5 on this quiz unless you have access to the chapter on John in Bart Ehrman’s The New Testament: A Historical Introduction to the Early Christian Writings.

 

Short Answer

1. What was the name of the biblical book this chapter was about?

2. A fifth method to study early Christian literature is mentioned in this chapter. What is the name of this method?

3. Name one of the three evidences that points to the idea that author of the Gospel of John used sources.

True or False

4. Jesus had to go before the Sanhedrin to be tried, according to the Gospel of John.       T  or  F

5. Jesus goes into the wilderness and is tempted by the devil, according to the Gospel of John.  T  or  F

