Busy, Busy, Busy!

by hamiltonmj1983

Lately I have had an abundance of work to do, including short-term deadlines for book reviews for both Bible Study Magazine as well as for a couple of journals, writing articles for Logos’ Lexham Bible Dictionary, and family stuff, including a trip to Florida.

Through all of this, I have really been able to enjoy the reading and writing and working with deadlines. It will be two years in May that I have been out of school, and it is a hard adjustment to make. I am a stay at home dad who teaches one class a semester. I really, really, really want to work full-time because it kills me to feel like I am not being productive (although I absolutely love hanging out with my 8-month-old son every day). I have to fight with myself and tell myself that I need to use this time as preparation for the future; I have goals of doing PhD work and teaching full-time, and what better time than now to read and write? These past two months have given me just that opportunity and it has truly been a blessing.

Next time you are stressed because you feel like you are extremely busy, stop for a minute … and enjoy the fact that you are fulfilling a purpose!

