Review of “1000 Days”

by hamiltonmj1983

Falwell, Jonathan. 1000 Days: The Ministry of Christ. Nashville, TN: Thomas Nelson, 2012. 229 Pages. $22.99.

 

I was concerned when I requested to review this book, due simply to the last name of the author. I am aware of the faulty exegesis that Jerry Falwell was known for, and I was concerned about reading a book written by his son, Jonathan Falwell. I did do my very best to read this book with an open mind and to attempt to separate the author from his father’s reputation.

 

Still, this book was difficult to read. Although advertised as an exploration of the ministry of Jesus, the end result is a collection of themed chapters with quotations from the four Gospels used as proof texts. The “notes” in the back are wanting; with no academic sources behind his “study” of Jesus’ ministry, I was left wondering if I was reading anything more than a collection of poorly prepared sermons. I appreciate the major goal that Falwell has in writing this book: evangelism. I do not appreciate the way I was misled into believing that this book was going to be about the ministry of Jesus or the biblical text in any way.

 

In addition, the quality of writing is poor, and the text is cliché-filled. The audience of this book appears to be non-Christians, as each chapter closes with the textual equivalent of an “altar call,” basically giving the reader an opportunity to accept Jesus as their personal savior. Although I agree that this decision is the single most important decision that a person can make, Falwell has seriously misjudged his audience, because this book has not been marketed for non-Christians. Ultimately, this book has almost zero appeal for any audience, and I cannot in good conscience recommend it for anyone.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

