Why Hello, Fall!

by hamiltonmj1983

Summer is over (for the most part). There is only one day in the 10-day forecast that has a high in the 80’s, and lows are dropping into the 40’s. I LOVE this time of year. I told my wife this morning that it is getting close to time for sweater vests and caramel apples. She gave me an odd look, but I like to think that she knows what I mean.

I am headed down to the University of Tennessee’s library in Knoxville today in hopes of finishing my last dictionary article for the Lexham Bible Dictionary. This has been an awesome experience, and I hope they give me the opportunity to write more! In the mean time, however, I need to get back to reading. This week I have started and finished two books: Misreading Scripture with Western Eyes: Removing Cultural Binders to Better Understand the Bible, and Hidden in Plain Sight: Finding Wisdom and  Meaning in the Parts of the Bible Most People Skip. (I highly recommend the first, while the second one was difficult to wade through – primary audiences for Hidden in Plain Sight are those who have never really studied the Bible before at all). Reviews for both of these will be published in Bible Study Magazine this coming Spring.

I hope that I can catch up on my reading this fall. Writing these articles has taken a great deal of my time, and while I read a great deal as I researched each topic, I did not read any books from start to finish. I set a goal at the beginning of the year to read at least 25 books, and I am still hoping to get there! I also have a tendency to read multiple books at the same time. Here is a list of everything I’ve read so far this year as well as the books I am currently reading:

1. “Why God Won’t Go Away: Is the New Atheism Running on Empty?” by Alister McGrath
2. “Civilizations of Ancient Iraq” by Benjamin Foster
3. “Mark: The Gospel of Passion” by Michael Card
4. “The Jesus We Missed” by Patrick Henry Reardon
5. “Festive Meals in Ancient Israel: Deuteronomy’s Identity in Their Ancient Near Eastern Context” by Peter Altmann
6. “Israel and Babylon: The Babylonian Influence on Israelite Religion” by Hermann Gunkel
7. “The Eerdmans Companion to the Bible” by Gordon Fee.
8. “Godforsaken: Bad Things Happen. Is There a God Who Cares? Yes. Here’s Proof” by Dinesh D’Souza
9. “Job: Understanding the Books of the Bible” by Christopher Smith
10. “Biblical hermeneutics: Five Views,” edited by Stanley E. Porter and Beth M. Stovell
11. “Psychological Analysis and the Historical Jesus” by Bas Van Os
12. “1000 Days” by Jonathan Falwell
13. “Return of the Chaos Monster and Other Backstories of the Bible” by Gregory Mobley
14. “The Later New Testament Writings and Scripture: The Old Testament in Acts, Hebrews, the Catholic Epistles, and Revelation” by Steve Moyise
15. “The Fourth Fisherman” by Joe Kissack
16. “Deuteronomy: The NIV Application Commentary” by Daniel L. Block
17. “The Evolution of Adam: What the Bible Does and Doesn’t Say about Human Origins” by Peter Enns
18. “Misreading Scripture with Western Eyes” by E. Randolph Richards and Brandon J. O’Brien
19. “Hidden in Plan Sight: Finding Wisdom and Meaning in the Parts of the Bible Most People Skip” by Boyd Seevers

I am currently reading:

20. “Biblical Hebrew Grammar Visualized” by Francis I. Anderson and A. Dean Forbes
21. “Go-Do” by Jay Milbrandt
22. “In Search of History: Historiography in the Ancient World and the Origins of Biblical History” by Van Seeters
23. “For Calvinism” by Michael Horton
24. “Against Calvinism” by Roger E. Olson

I also have a couple more short Christian non-fiction books sent to me to review on this blog that I have not gotten to yet, so hopefully those will be quick reads!

Fall, for me, is a time to get back into reading. The weather is so wonderful that I can read outdoors or indoors, and it really reminds me of my days in school when I would return to the Carson-Newman campus each fall a few weeks before the leaves started changing (which reminds me, I am extremely excited about visiting CN in a few weeks for homecoming; I cannot believe that it has already been 5 years since I’ve graduated!).

Anyway, I hope you all are enjoying the beginnings of fall, and I hope that you all try to read at least a book or two!

