SBL is COMING!

by hamiltonmj1983

And it is seriously crunch time. My paper is the equivalent of a 1600-word outline.

I know my starting point, and I can see where I’m going from the work I’ve done so far, but it is just insanity trying to move from point A to point B. I look over what I have and think, “this is terrible!” But then again, it isn’t even a first draft yet, so of course it is terrible.

I view SBL as a giant pool of ideas; by presenting a paper, I am submitting my idea to the pool. If my idea sucks, it should spit it back in my face. If my idea is good, then hopefully I will receive some affirmation and then go on to turn my idea into a paper to be submitted as an article to journals.

Anybody out there reading this in the same boat as me, trying to finish up a paper that just doesn’t want to end? How are you dealing with it? It doesn’t help that I’m also working on two classes that I haven’t taught before (or at least through the medium that I’m teaching one of them), so I am writing all my material week-by-week for two classes in addition to lecturing and grading (and being a dad of a 2-year-old, looking for full-time employment and constantly sending out my CV, and whatever else I have on my plate, ha!).

I’m guessing that I just need to buck up and get it done!

